Knocklyon Network has received funding under the Government Diaspora Scheme to link up the Past pupils of St. Colmcille’s Primary with Knocklyon. The purpose is to develop their links with the Community and school they grew up with as children ,no matter where they are living now. Most of the 9000 pupils who attended St. Colmcilles developed a strong affiliation and attachment to the school,their friends and the area of Knocklyon. Many have remained very close to these friends ever since they left the Primary. Many still have strong connections to family within the Community. Their attachment to Knocklyon was strengthened through affiliations with our clubs. Boden and Wanderers GAA, Knocklyon United, Bros Pearse Athletic, Knocklyon Concert Band, Junior Badminton, and the many other clubs and hobbies throughout Knocklyon.

We are setting up a Facebook Group page for the Past Pupils. We have the support of the schools. We know that many of our followers of our website and our Facebook page attended St. Colmcilles. Please share this with all your Colmcille’s friends and send us in photos of those happy days. We will try and post some of the memorable events over the years, but we need your help.

Please sign in at  : or join the Facebook Group :

or go direct to the Group page :  and share it with your friends.   We also invite you to submit your photos and Videos to the page.   This page is for you , please join and make it a success by sharing and contributing.

History of St. Colmcille’s National Schools, Knocklyon

In the mid 1970’s a seven acre site on Idrone Avenue was purchased by the priests of Ballroan Parish at a cost of £36,000 for a school in the Knocklyon area. The Carmelite Order took on the task of running the new parish. There were long delays in getting formal approval for the government grant but approval was finally received in April 1975. Mr. John Carroll was architect for the project. The 16 classroom school was completed in July 1976. The school took in it’s first pupils in September 1976 and was officially opened on 31st March, 1977, by the then Taoiseach, Mr. Liam Cosgrave T.D. who resides on Scholarstown Road. Archbishop Dermot Ryan blessed the new building.

The first roll had 47 pupils and by the official opening day this had risen to 54. The population increase in Knocklyon was of such a nature that a second school was required. In 1982 a second building was built. The original school became the Junior School and the new building housed the Senior School.

Nearly 200 pupils now graduate each year from St. Colmcille’s School compared with 5 in 1978. St. Colmcille’s S.N.S. and J.N.S. now have a teaching staff of over 70 teachers and a total pupil population of over 1400 pupils.

In late 2011, construction began on a new phase of development in the life of St. Colmcilles. Temporary buildings were installed on site to house some of the junior school population while the senior school pupils decanted to a temporary site on the Ballyboden grounds at Sancta Maria. Over the course of the next 24 months, the school that we know today rose from the foundations to retake it’s place at the heart of the parish. In September 2014 we returned to Idrone avenue and on September 25th, 2015, the school was officially opened and a new chapter in the life of St. Colmcilles began.

The current staff of the Senior School is:

We are blessed in St. Colmcilles to have a highly skilled and highly motivated staff who are always willing to go above and beyond the call of duty. Our staff members are a talented bunch who have represented their school, their community, their county and even their country both in their school lives and in their own lives outside of school.

Principal                                    Deputy Principal

Ms. L. Corcoran                        Mr. F. Connolly

3rd Class                               4th Class                         5th Class                  6th Class
Mr. J. Murphy                     Mr. N. Johnston            Mr. R. Maguire         Mr. D. McGovern
Mr. E O’Reilly                      Ms. A. Murphy              Ms. G. Maher            Ms. N. Ní Fhearghail
Ms. N. Dunphy                    Mr. K. Ryan                    Mr. C. Kearney        Ms. J. O’Sullivan
Ms. A. Keyes                       Ms. E. O’Connor             Ms. R. Walsh             Ms. L. Devine
Ms. S. Minogue                   Mr. H. Ruddy                 Mr. D. Casey             Mr. R. Sweetnam
Mr. S. Durkin                      Ms. E. Butler                  Mr. A Fitzpatrick     Ms. A. Smith
Ms. S. O’Brien                 Ms. S. Naughton

Resource Teachers            Learning Support Teachers                Special Needs Assistants
Ms. N. O’Sullivan               Ms. A. Fahy                                           Ms. T. Redmond
Ms. K. Styles                      Ms. A. Neville                                        Ms. C. Cummins
Ms. H. McKeown               Ms. A. O’Gara                                        Ms. C. English
Ms. S. Synnott                   Ms. T. McAllister                                  Ms. C. Curtin
Ms. S. Bent                         Ms. L. Glennon                                      Ms. C. Nolan
Mr. A. Dundon                   Ms. H. McCann                                      Ms. L. Lyons
Ms. SJ. Woods                                                                                    Ms. J. Ward-Heffernan
Ms. S. Timmons                                                                                 Ms. L. Kinsella
Ms. J. Byrne                                                                                                                                                                   Ms. M. De Lappe                                                                                                                                                          Ms. A. Alexander
St Colmcille’s JNS School Leadership

School Principal: Mr John Boyle
Deputy Principal: Ms Ita Corduff

Mainstream Class Teachers

Junior Infants 2015-2016


  • Ms K.Divilly
  • Ms N.Higgins
  • Ms J. Fitzgerald
  • Ms R. Flood
  • Ms T.Conway
  • Ms C.Bentham
  • Ms K. Tierney

Senior Infants 2015-2016


  • Ms A. Lynch
  • Ms A. Doyle
  • Ms M. Cannon
  • Ms T. Jones
  • Ms A. Lawless
  • Ms H. Mulqueen
  • Ms A. Mathews
  • Ms P. O’Rourke and Ms H. Dore

First Class 2015-2016


  • Ms A. Gallagher
  • Ms C. Greene
  • Mr K. Tierney
  • Mr K. Kelly
  • Ms M. Faherty
  • Mr J. Heenan
  • Ms S. Carr

Second Class 2015-2016


  • Ms U. Johnston
  • Ms H.Price
  • Mr N. Cassidy
  • Ms E. Neary
  • Ms M. Hannon
  • Mr D. Curtin
  • Ms O. Monaghan

Support Teachers

  • Ms R. O Connor
  • Ms O. Boland
  • Ms C. Murphy O’Shea
  • Ms S. Mc Donnell
  • Mr G. Cuddy
  • Mr.S.Hannon
  • Ms. E.Ruddy
  • Ms D Ní  Bhroin
  • Ms P. Connell
  • Ms G. Mc Sharry
  • Ms C. Conlon
  • Ms R. McKiernan
  • Ms.C.Copland
  • Ms. S.Ryan

Special Needs Assistants


  • Noeleen
  • Anne-Marie
  • Deirdre
  • Sheila
  • Liz
  • Geraldine
  • Susan
  • Maureen
  • Mary 
  • Barbara
  • Breda

School Secretaries

  • Trudagh 
  • Orla

Cleaning Staff

  • Oana
  • Joan
  • Carole