The Community Endeavour Awards aim to acknowledge, promote and recognise the work of community and voluntary organisations within the administrative area of South Dublin County Council. There is an immense richness and variety of voluntary organisations working in South Dublin and this initiative in some small way tries to recognise the efforts of those who carry out this valuable work. All community organisations whose activities have made a difference in their community and have had a beneficial effect on the residents were eligible to enter.
140 entries were received from a wide variety of groups operating in South Dublin County.
An independent judging panel assessed each entry and the Awards were made at a function in the Red Cow Moran’s Hotel on Friday 11th December by Mayor of South Dublin ,Councillor Sarah Holland.
Speaking at the event, Mayor Holland said “Tonight is about recognising your endeavour and rewarding it but it is also a night where, as a Council, we give thanks to you for your work over the past twelve months.”
Awards were made under the following headings:
Knocklyon Network – Civic Pride and Community Endeavour
Rathcoole Community Centre – Multi-Purpose Community Facility of the Year
Dominic’s Community Centre – Neighbourhood Community Facility of the Year
Killinarden Angling Club – Sport and Recreation
Fettercairn Horse Project – Social Inclusion Award
RAMS Newcastle – Active Age Award
Na Gael Óga GLC – Gradam na Gaeilge
Dodder Action – Community Sustainability Initiative
Dublin Bus – Corporate Endeavour Award
Chloe Callaghan (nominated by Balgaddy Working Together Group – Young Achiever
Christy McDonnell (nominated by Rathcoole Community Centre) – Lifetime Achievement
PK Boccia Club – Special Recognition Award
Ballyboden St. Enda’s GAA Club – Special Endeavour Award
Dominic’s Community Centre – Overall Community Endeavour Award
Further details are available from the Community Services Section, South Dublin County Council. Tel. 4149270 or by email at